Membership Services and Small Business Support Council



While the name of the council does most of the explaining, The Membership Services and Small Business Support Council strives to provide relevant and profitable events for members, determine the services and benefits that members require and to identify revenue sources outside of the traditional membership investment.

Seems simple enough, right? A mix of small business owners and employees of larger firms in and around Sarasota, this council is key in the planning and execution of the annual Frank G. Berlin Sr. Small Business Awards, which recognizes member businesses and individuals with locally owned and operated business in six categories. Named in honor of the late Frank G. Berlin Sr., whose legacy in the community and untiring support of The Greater Sarasota Chamber of Commerce epitomized the hopes and dreams of contemporary business entrepreneurs, members of the council facilitate nominations, applications and judging for the event, now in its 26th year.

Council members also discuss member benefits, identify new member prospects and evaluate Chamber events on a monthly basis.

jeff mayers 2Jeff Mayers, Chair of the Membership Services and Events Division of the Chamber and General Manager for the Resort at Longboat Key Club serves as this year’s Chair. In his role, Jeff oversees The Chamber’s successful transition to a tiered benefits approach to membership, the development and implementation of over 100 networking opportunities annually and other non-dues revenue sources.

“As a Chamber member you ensure continued access to over 1,500 businesses and 5,000 business leaders here in the Sarasota region. It’s an investment I’m proud to support on behalf of The Resort at Longboat Key Club and one I hope you’ll continue to support as well.”

Jeff is joined by other key members of the council including: Janet Arena, Shari Brickley, Charles Cusimano, Britney Guertin, George Jenkins, Doug Jennings, Robert Leibold, Sharon Litchfield, Anthony Manganiello, Jeannette Watling-Mills, Tish Scott-Murphy, Nathan Pawlukiewicz, Raymond Reher, Tom Roberts, Jenifer Schembri, Yvonne Schloss, David Snyder and Sharon Viner.

As a membership organization, The Chamber depends heavily on the generous contributions of the members of this council to provide the benefits and resources key to creating member engagement and retention.

To learn more about the Membership Services and Small Business Support Council or to get involved, please email

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s